Monday, June 18, 2018

That's A Wrap

I was sorting through pictures that I have taken over the last 2 years or so.  I kind of gave up on sorting pictures once Apple decided that the way I was sorting pictures was illogical (e.g. putting all of my cat pictures in an album called Cats and all of my Iceland pictures in an album called Iceland) and to allow them to sort and manage every single photo I've taken based upon date and location only.  I finally opened up Photos again and luckily, putting pictures in albums is much easier now.  I was going through 2.5 years of pictures and I realized I never capped off my Third Life Crisis.

It'll be hard to remember the details since I'm writing this a year and a half after my funemployment ended, but I'll do my best.

Of all the trips that I initially had planned, I didn't go on 1 of them.  I wanted to go to Argentina, specifically Mendoza, for their wines and meats.  I just didn't get there.  I had planned for it in November which was their spring season, but just didn't work out.  I was starting to run low on the funds and that was one piece of it.  Also, I had been doing so much traveling that I was exhausted.  By nature, I am introverted and a bit of a home body and being gone had kind of taken its toll on me.  I was content to sit this trip out and stay at home so I did that.  The trip to Vancouver was basically my last trip.

After Vancouver, I just got more settled in Denver.  Arapahoe Basin opened up so I went snowboarding in October a few times.  That was the 1st time after my knee surgery, first ride in 18 months, and I remember being really scared on that run.  I just didn't know how my knee would handle it, and it actually was fine.  I did a few runs and got more comfortable.  On October 31st, I did a triple header.  I went snowboarding at A-Bay in the morning, went for a bike ride in the afternoon (it was 70ish that day in Denver), and then I went to a concert that night.  A lot in a single day.

November began the slow job search.  I didn't want to go back to work, but I kind of had to.  Started networking, started putting my resume together, and started applying.  The job search process absolutely blows.  It just isn't fun.  When I wasn't looking for a job, I was just enjoying Denver.  I didn't set my alarm, I did stuff around the house every day, went out and explored, and of course, I went snowboarding.  Throughout the entire season, I was on the mountain for 32 days. Breck, Keystone, A-Bay, Vail, Beaver Creek, and Winter Park are all ski hills that I visited.  When you go 32 days in a single season, you get really better.  I can't say I got really good, because that is debatable, so I'll just use the ugly term that I got really better.  Groomers were easy, obviously, and I bombed down them.  Powder wasn't a problem, and I love powder.  Bumps, I actually got better at bumps.  Bumps and snowboarders are kind of like swimming and triathletes.  Everyone bitches about it so I decided to take it head on.  For a snowboarder, I got really better and dealing with bumps.  The trick that I learned was to do a jump turn with my back foot.  I learned this from watching skiiers and they basically jump with every turn.  I learned to basically pick up my back foot at a certain point in the turn and it made it a lot easier because I could get the board around quicker.  I found prior to this that the back edge of my board would catch on the snow.  That is my solution to it.  I also got a lot better at trees, too.  I had such a mental block with trees and I finally caved into peer pressure.  It's a practice/confidence thing and I just never got over that hump before.  Also, don't go into trees alone, like I did.  A lot.  The snowboarding season ended on April 27th at Winter Park.  I remember that day vividly because the forecast was 8" of powder, and it was more like 12"+ in the trees, it was still snowing, and there was no one on the mountain.  I was finding fresh lines the entire day and it was absolutely glorious.  A powder day with no one on the mountain and no lines is a wonderful, joyous thing.

That is until I hit a rock.  I wasn't even in the trees either.  I was on the side of a groomed trail noodling around in the powder on the side.  I decided to go up into the trees on the side of the trail and then do a drop.  It was small, like 2-3 turns and then the drop off.  I committed to the drop off and that was when I saw that my line would take me right into a rock.  In this situation I said the standard thing ("Oh, shit!") and I don't know whether I tried to go around the rock or if I tried to jump over the rock, but I do know that I hit the rock.  I landed in the snow and I was hurting.  Didn't hit my head but my right shin hurt, my left knee hurt, and my left ribs hurt.  The right shin hurt because it hit the rock.  My left knee hurt because my momentum carried my body and somehow twisted my left knee.  Later on, I found out I had a pretty bad left MCL sprain.  My left ribs hurt because my arms were flailing as I was falling.  When my body stopped falling, my left arm came crashing into my ribs and bruised them.  I was in that snow for awhile trying to assess what the fuck just happened because it hurt.  It hurt bad.  I finally got up and got going down the rest of the run.  I did 1 more run, like an idiot, hey, it was a powder day, and I couldn't do it any more.  Every time I got on the lift, either my knee or my ribs would scream out in pain.  I went back to the lodge and had to call a ski patrol to check me out.  They took me on a snowmobile to get back to my car.  BTW, I need to go on a snowmobile ride because that shit is fun.  Ended up going to the doctor later and had a really bad bruise on my right shin with the sprained left MCL and the bruised ribs.  My shin, which bore the brunt of the attack from the rock, actually hurt the least.  My ribs and left knee hurt for months after it.  Accidents happen and I don't regret it because that was an amazing day.

Keystone?

Imperial Express at Breck




Anne and I at Breck.

Peak 6 at Breck

Heading up to Peak 6 at Breck

Back bowls of Vail

Keystone?

At the end of a powder day at Beaver Creek.

Keystone with Breck in the distance

Winter Park, the day of The Rock

Winter Park, the day of The Rock

That winter, my focus was to snowboard as much as possible and that's how I got 32 days in.

When I wasn't snowboarding, I was looking for a job.  Honestly, there really isn't anything exciting to talk about for that.  I was hardcore job hunting for about 6 months.  It definitely wasn't fun.  I started keeping track of all the job applications and by the end, I estimate that I applied for 300 jobs before I finally found one.  In the first part of 2017, that was about it.  Just trying to find a job.  It was extremely difficult for many reasons.  One of them was I was in a new city and didn't have much of a network.  I was also trying to make a slight career shift by going from traditional project management to a scrum master.  Lastly, I didn't have any external facing experience and that hindered me.  I did take the Manager Tools Interview Series which is well worth the money and proved to be very valuable.  But it was a struggle and it was a ton of stress.  I felt like crap.  I know I'm a good employee, but I just couldn't convince anyone to give me a chance.  Finally, in June of 2017, my funemployment was over and I got a job.

I was out of work for 13 months.  It was probably about 3-5 months longer than I would have liked, but I am glad I did it.  It was so great to just take some time off when I had the health and money to do some fun shit.  There were some downsides though.  Basically traveling by myself for several weeks several times was very tiring.  I'm introverted by nature and while I did try to strike up conversations at times, I was still by myself most of the time.  That got really boring after awhile.  I did share on social media, but it still wasn't the same as having a travel buddy.  I did movie from one city to another city which allowed a lot of time to spend on my house in Denver, but a lot of time means a lot of money typically.  But I did get this house in really good shape in a short amount of time.  Paint, furniture, garage work, and just little things around the house all got done instead of being drug out years.

And this ends the chronicles of my year off.  If you have a chance to do so, I would recommend it.  It can be scary and responsibilities take over, and there will be rough parts, but it has been good.

Live for the powder days.

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Concerts

My travels have wrapped up for the most part and the job hunt is on in full force.  I was making plans for my upcoming summer and realized that I never posted about many of the concerts that I went to last year.  Well, here's a post about it.  I'll try to keep the crappy concert pictures to a minimum, but I'm not going to try that hard.

As a side note, I went through a period of about a decade where I went to almost no concerts.  My reasons for not liking it was that it was expensive, I couldn't enjoy the company of my friends while the music was playing, and I thought it sounded better at home than live.  I went to a concert, I think it was Rodrigo & Gabriella in Austin, and that completely turned the tide.  I have been going to multiple shows each year since then.

Sting & Peter Gabriel, July 9th, 2016 @ United Center in Chicago

I hadn't planned on going to this concert, but one of my friends had a spare ticket.  Her friend couldn't make it and I had already planned in being in Chicago.  It worked out very fortuitously.  I'm not a huge fan of Sting or Peter Gabriel, but I know they are great musicians and huge artists and I wanted to see these two legends.

This concert was different than a normal concert with an opener or two and then the headliner.  In this concert, it was both bands on the stage the entire time; a total of 13 people on the stage all night long.  It was a fantastic show and some of the highlights were Sting playing Peter Gabriel songs and Peter Gabriel singing Sting songs.  Roxanne was one of the highlights, but the show was closed out with Peter Gabriel's "Sledgehammer".  The crowd was wild.  Well, as wild as much as a bunch of 40somethings and 50somethings could get.




Sufjan Stevens, July 18th, 2016 @ Red Rocks Amphitheater in Denver, CO

Sufjan has been one of my favorite artists for nearly a decade.  I saw him in Austin in 2015 and it was the best scalping experience I had ever experienced.  The show was sold out and I didn't want to pay the StubHub prices.  I went to the venue, Bass Concert Hall, and walked up to the a guy selling tickets.  He said he had one left for $20 and it was front row.  WTF?  No fucking way!  I paid my $20 and walked in.  Yep, it was front row, center stage.  I had to look around one of the monitors to see parts of the stage.  The show was the best, most transcendental, existential concert that I have ever been to.  I was on cloud 9 for days after that show.  Ever since that show, I knew I would go to any Sufjan Steven show that I could go to.

This show at Red Rocks Amphitheater was my first show in Denver.  Everyone kept saying "You gotta see a show at Red Rocks!" and after about 6 weeks of living in Denver, I did.  I took too many pictures with it being my first time at Red Rocks, but I can see what the hub bub is about.  The venue is absolutely beautiful nestled in between two huge red rocks with the stage below and the view overlooking the plains of Colorado towards Denver.  It was threatening to rain almost the entire time with some light sprinkles, but that was a perfect recipe for a double rainbow prior to the show.  There were lightning strikes in the background and it was a very amazing first trip to Red Rocks.  I have goosebumps right now just remembering it.

The show was absolutely amazing.  My 1st Sufjan Stevens concert was a very emotional, personal experience with him.  This one was completely different.  It was very full of energy and a lot of the arrangements of his songs at this show were completely different than the last show and different from the album versions.  One of my favorite things about Sufjan is that he does mix up his songs so much that it is as if you are hearing his songs for the 1st time but there is a strong sense of deja vu.  It was completely amazing.  He played my favorite song of his "Casimir Pulaski Day" and from this concert, my 2nd favorite song of his is now "Vesuvius".

After seeing two of his shows now, I still will see him any time he is in town.  And Red Rocks is definitely the best concert venue in the US.  You just cannot beat the scenery, the setting, and the acoustics.






Sufjan is wearing a costume covered in balloons.


Portugal. The Man, July 20th, 2016 @ Red Rocks Amphitheater in Denver, CO

Yep, you read that date correctly.  I was just here 2 days prior.  I first found out about them in Austin while listening to Chillville on Sunday mornings.  The DJ mentioned that they were from Portland, OR, my absolute favorite city in the US, and that made my ears perk up.  I found more of their music and I was hooked.

I never saw them in concert until this show.  They were playing with Glass Animals and Glass Animals played first.  I had never heard of them prior to the show, but then I recognized some of their songs.  I've since become more of a fan of them.  The best part about their set was at one point, the lead singer got off the stage, came into the crowd, and sung a song in the middle of the audience.  Oh, this also happened to be about 12' from me.  The picture below is not zoomed in at all.  Great, high energy show.  Portugal. The Man came on after Glass Animals.  It was a great show as well.  I love their music and enjoyed the show, but it was definitely a bit lower energy after Glass Animals.  Still a quality concert and I'll be seeing them again later this year in Denver.


Me presenting to you Red Rocks



Radiohead, July 26th, 2016 @ Madison Square Garden in New York City

If you are keeping count, this is the 4th concert in July.  Radiohead has been one of my favorite bands for nearly 2 decades.  I have opinions on all of their albums and I think OK Computer is one of their best albums and is one of my favorites of all time.  I've been wanting to see them for awhile, even during my concert going dark ages, but never had the opportunity.  I heard about their shows in NYC and with plans in place to be out of work, I decided to make a trip centered around this show.

I thoroughly enjoyed the show.  The crowd was a huge mix of people who listened to Radiohead while teenagers and a bunch of people where Radiohead was to them as Led Zeppelin is to me.  However, I had been walking around NYC all day prior to the show.  I don't recommend being on your feet for 13 hours in a single day.  I wanted to enjoy the show more, but I was absolutely tired.  She was great with hearing so many songs live that give me joy when I listen to them.




Sigur Ros, September 27th, 2016 @ Ellie Caulkins Opera House in Denver, CO

I almost saw Sigur Ros in 2003 or so in Atlanta.  I had tickets to go see them, but I hurt my knee playing ultimate frisbee so I couldn't go.  I sold my tickets to a friend of a friend.  That person after the show said that that show was one of the most emotional concerts that they had ever been to.  It took me 13 years to experience what they experienced.  I was also hyped for this concert because I was in Iceland for 2 weeks about a month prior to the show.  I went on a Music Walk of Reykjavik that heavily talked about Bjork and Sigur Ros.

The show was in an opera house which was very appropriate.  This was a sit down concert and a very enjoyable one at that.  Pictures weren't allowed but I snuck in a couple.  I didn't want to take any pictures because I was in the moment and enjoying the show in front of me.  The highlight of the night for me was when they played "Glosoli".  It is such an amazing song and video.  At the end of the night, I'm glad that I finally got to see them and it was a very emotional concert.




The Naked & Famous, October 31st, 2016 @ Ogden Theatre in Denver, CO

This day was great because I did a trifecta: snowboarding in the morning, biking in the afternoon, concert at night.  I almost didn't make this show because my best friend, my cat BT, had some health issues.  I took him to the emergency vet, they say he hurt his kitty ankle instead of having a blood clot, and he would be OK.  I took him home, petted him goodbye, and headed to the show.  I luckily got to the Ogden Theatre in time to see the last song of the opening act.  I had to wait about 30 minutes for The Naked & Famous to come onstage so the timing was great.  Since this was Halloween, many people there were in costumes.  Once the band took the stage, they were also in costumes dressed up as Star Wars characters.  The lead singer was Princess Leia, the guitarist was Luke Skywalker, another guy was in a Jabba The Hutt suit, Obi-Wan Kenobi was there too, and I have to give mad props to the drummer.  He played in a full Chewbacca costume the entire night.  He must have lost 5 pounds from sweat in just that show.

Another great concert from the band.  They played a lot of my favorite songs and very energetic show as well.  The crowd was on their feet and into it the entire night.




And those are the shows that I've seen during my funemployment.  Six great shows and I can't wait for more concerts this summer.

Monday, February 6, 2017

Vancouver, Eh!

My claim to fame is that I went to Moldova before I went to Canada.  Yes, that's completely true and I'm not exaggerating.  With my travels, I had to make a trip to Canada.  After the big trips, I decided to do a short trip up to Vancouver.  My original plan was to do about a 3 week road trip from Denver through Utah to the Bay Area and then up the West Coast along Highway 1 to Bend, Portland, Seattle, and Vancouver.  The final leg would be from Vancouver back to Denver with a couple of stops in Idaho, Montana, and Wyoming.  I decided that after my road trip to Illinois and my road trip through Iceland, I absolutely hated taking long road trips by myself.  So, I cancelled that trip, but I admit it would've been awesome if I had a buddy along for the ride.

I still had to get in Canada so I booked a long weekend in Vancouver because I've heard such great things about it.  I ended up using some points to stay at the Grand Westin downtown so it was a great location.  Getting from the airport to the hotel was done via taxi, but I wish I could've taken a train or a bus.  I try to use public transportation whenever possible unless I'm in a rush.  Public transportation is something that I very much enjoy in big cities and over in Europe, but it is fairly rare where I've lived in the past.  First thing I did is get Tim Horton's of course because that's what you do in Canada.  I didn't have much time the first day there but I did decide to go to a hockey game because the Canucks's stadium was about 4 blocks away.  I really like watching hockey live.  It is one of the few sports that I prefer watching live because with the others, I'd rather watch it from my couch because I have a better view and cheaper beer.  With hockey, I can follow the puck around the ice much better in person, even from the nose bleed seats, than I can on TV.





On the next day, the first order of business was the Vancouver Foodie Tours.  I ended up taking the Granville Island Market Tour first thing in the morning.  It was excellent and Nadia, our tour guide, was fantastic, personable, and really knew a lot about great food in Vancouver.  Granville Island is one of the top tourist spots in Vancouver, but it isn't too touristy.  There is a great market there as well as various other shops, restaurants, breweries.  I ended up spending pretty much the entire first day there between the tour, wandering around in the shops, eating, and drinking at Granville Island Brewing while making bar friends.  After having "just one more beer" about 4 times, I headed out and ended up taking one of the Vancouver Walking Tours.  The one I decided on was the Lost Souls of Gastown.  It started at around 8pm at night and we walked around many parts of the Gastown neighborhood in Vancouver.  On the tour, I met some more bar friends and then headed back to the hotel.

Granville Island

Across the river from Granville Island

Granville Island Market sweets

Just a boy with a pigeon on his shoulder

Damn pretty treats

Silo men

Granville Island Brewing

Drunken photography #1

Drunken photography #2

Drunken photography #3

Drunken photography #4

Drunken photography #5

Drunken photography #6

Drunken photography #7

We walked into a convenience store and this cat ran up for some pets

The next day was more wandering around.  I decided to go back to Gastown and check it out during the day.  It is definitely different during the day than it is at night.  After shopping a bit, I decided to walk over to the convention center.  On the way was Bella Gelateria which people say is one of the best gelato places in North America.  Lines go out the door when it is summer and since I'm a weirdo that travels where it is cold, there was no line.  The gelato was definitely delicious.  I took a walk around the convention center and watched the sunset over Vancouver.  It was quite lovely (I've started saying that because I've been listening to Adam Savage's podcast).  Dinner that night was at some Asian-Italian fusion place and it was oh so fantastic.  I had some sort of lasagna that was amazing and that was after a gorgeous salad as well.

Pork belly for breakfast

Hehe, Canadian humor

1 part lampshade, 1 part Pacific Northwest Native American art, 1 part Star Wars

Gelato


North Vancouver across the water






North Vancouver lit up in the sunset


Vancouver in blue

Interested art shot that I took

Salad

Lasagna

Shavings from a skate shop's wheel carving machine

Sunday was a lazy day.  I got up to go for a run around Stanley Park, but there was the Vancouver Rock'n'Roll Half Marathon going on there.  I wanted to run all the way around it, but unfortunately, I'll have to save that for the next time I'm in Vancouver.  I had some lunch and then headed over to the Museum of Anthropology.  It is probably one of the best museums in Vancouver, but it was really far away from where I was staying.  Of course I took the bus though, but it was a long trip to get there.  The building itself is gorgeous and it is on the grounds of the University of British Colombia.  It had a lot of artifacts from all over the world, but the biggest exhibits are those of the Pacific Northwest Native American tribes.  It was awesome to see all of the art and canoes and totem poles.  I headed back to downtown Vancouver, had some dinner, and finally had some poutine on my last night in Vancouver.  Got up the next day, had some Tim Horton's and headed to the airport.

The money in Canada is awesome!

Half marathon

Right at the finish line for the half marathon

Soccer fans marching down the street in front of my hotel.





UBC campus

Museum of Anthropology

Museum of Anthropology

Museum of Anthropology

Museum of Anthropology

UBC campus.  I love autumn.


Poutine!

In Canada, they don't horse around when it comes to lamps.

An interesting shelter that a homeless person created.

I really enjoyed the trip to Vancouver.  Canadians are truly as nice and polite as their reputation in my opinion.  I like to think I'm 80% Canadian, but 20% American asshole.  The food in Vancouver is great because there is a huge diversity of people which influences the cuisine there.  It definitely is a foodie town in my opinion.  The weather was great while I was there, but I do like traveling when it was cold.  It was only 4 days in Vancouver, but I will definitely be taking another trip there.